Future Technology

For even more Safety in Aviation:

The Emergency Landing Assistant ELA of the FernUni Hagen.

An engine failure means a horror scenario for every pilot and greatest danger to passengers. In aviation, emergency situations require quick decisions – under stress and the selection of many parameters.

 
The perfect emergency landing procedure will soon successfully be completed automatically – the Emergency Landing Assistant ELA makes this possible. The new flight assistance system was developed at FernUni Hagen in the Department of Computer Science under the direction of Prof. Dr. Wolfram Schiffmann.

 
Prof. Schiffmann designed the basic solutions based on which a first prototype was developed in the scope of a Bachelor's thesis. In close collaboration with Prof. Schiffmann, h&h designed the ergonomic user interface for commercial aircrafts – for the use in planes from both Airbus and Boeing as well as in business aviation jets.

In case of emergency, the Emergency Landing Assistant (ELA) is switched to the autopilot. Four individual displays provide all necessary parameters, such as the choice of up to four emergency landing places and the flight path. The special ELA Flight Director is used for surveillance or for a manual approach via the Primary Flight Display.

 
In the meantime, the software performs a multitude of complex calculations in the background and calculates the optimal glide path to the available, safe emergency places. ELA transmits the data to the autopilot, which leads the aircraft in a glide to the specific landing field.

Contact FernUni Hagen:

 


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Schiffmann
Subject Area Computer Architecture
wolfram.schiffmannfernuni-hagen.de
+49 2331 987-325

 


FernUniversität in Hagen
Centre of Computer Science
Universitätsstraße 1
58097 Hagen, Germany
www.fernuni-hagen.de

 

On January 15, 2009, Chesley B. Sullenberger succeeded in ditching on the Hudson River after a glide flight with an Airbus A 320, after both engines had failed in New York in 3.200 feet of altitude. A masterly feat, which is only manageable by experienced pilots. The reconstruction of this flight with the ELA in a flight simulator (as documented here) proves that the ELA would have directed Sullenbergers A 320 to Laguardia airport for a safely landing. The downsize version of the ELA for general aviation runs as a solitary app on tablets or integrated in the built-in avionic of the aircraft. The display variant for visual flights is an optimized VFR user interface for the purely manual approach to the emergency landing field.

ZUKUNFTSTECHNOLOGIE

Für noch mehr Sicherheit im Flugverkehr:

Der Emergency Landing Assistant ELA der FernUni Hagen.

Ein Triebwerksausfall bedeutet ein Horrorszenario für jeden Piloten und größte Gefahr für Passagiere. In der Luftfahrt erfordern Notsituationen blitzschnelle Entscheidungen – und das unter Stress und Auswahl vieler Parameter.

 
Das perfekte Notlandeverfahren gelingt demnächst automatisch – der Emergency Landing Assistant ELA macht das möglich. Das neue Flugassistenzsystem wurde an der FernUni Hagen im Fachbereich Informatik unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Wolfram Schiffmann entwickelt.

 
Prof. Schiffmann konzipierte die grundlegenden Lösungsansätze, auf deren Basis im Rahmen einer Bachelor-Arbeit ein erster Prototyp entwickelt wurde. h&h gestaltete in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Schiffmann das ergonomische User Interface für den Einsatz in Verkehrsflugzeugen – für die großen Jets von Airbus oder Boeing bis hin zu Business Jets.

Im Notfall wird der Emergency Landing Assistant ELA auf den Autopiloten geschaltet. Vier individuelle Displays liefern alle erforderlichen Parameter, wie die Auswahlmöglichkeit von bis zu vier Notlandeplätzen und den Flugweg. Der spezielle ELA Flight Director dient zur Kontrolle oder für einen manuellen Approach per Primary Flight Display.

 
Währenddessen erledigt die Software im Hintergrund eine Vielzahl komplexer Berechnungen und errechnet den optimalen Gleitpfad zu den verfügbaren, sicheren Notlandeplätzen. ELA übermittelt die Daten an den Autopiloten, der das Flugzeug im Gleitflug zur Landung führt.

Kontakt FernUni Hagen:

 


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Schiffmann
Lehrgebiet Rechnerarchitektur
wolfram.schiffmannfernuni-hagen.de
+49 2331 987-325

 


FernUniversität in Hagen
Informatikzentrum
Universitätsstraße 1
58097 Hagen, Deutschland
www.fernuni-hagen.de

 

Am 15. Januar 2009 gelang Chesley B. Sullenberger nach einem Gleitflug mit einem Airbus A 320 eine Notwasserung auf dem Hudson River, nachdem über New York in nur knapp 1.000 m Flughöhe durch Vogelschlag beide Triebwerke ausgefallen waren. Eine fliegerische Meisterleistung, zu der nur überdurchschnittlich erfahrene Piloten fähig sind. Die hier dokumentierte Rekonstruktion dieses Fluges mit dem ELA im Flugsimulator liefert aber auch den Beweis, dass der ELA Sullenbergers A 320 zum Flughafen Laguardia dirigiert hätte und dort sicher gelandet wäre. Die Downsize-Variante des ELA für die allgemeine Luftfahrt läuft als solitäre App auf Tablets oder integriert in der Bordavionic. Die Display-Alternative für den Sichtflug ist ein optimiertes VFR-User Interface für den rein manuellen Anflug auf das Notlandefeld.